One of the things that occurred to me early on is that the coincidences between NT writings (or other Christian teachings) and Talmud (or other rabbinical teachings) make complete sense if they are both elucidations of the same underlying tradition. And could it be that the underlying tradition for both is the Oral Law?

(Don’t expect me to explain here what the Oral Law is – that sort of thing is beyond the scope of these short “intersections” posts. You’ll also notice if you read these posts that I don’t necessarily start or end them neatly packaged as a post ought to be, since they are mostly just musings on various points.)

This thought is just foreign enough to my mind (my experience with Christianity as relationship rather than religious formality has been in a Protestant stream, not the Roman one which openly acknowledges the validity of the Oral Law) that I’m just keeping an eye out for it for now.