Revelation 4:8  And each one of the four living creatures had six wings about him, and within being full of eyes. And they had no rest day and night, saying, Holy, holy, holy, Lord God, the Almighty, who was and is and is to come.

My first encounter with Mesorah publications was through the Artscroll Siddur. I had picked it up in a bookstore more or less on a whim, having no idea yet what a siddur is – a prayer book, basically. So naturally I started at the beginning. On the first page following the front matter I found this:

The Names of God

The Four-Letter Name of God [Y-H-V-H {transliterated}] indicates that God is timeless and infinite, since the letters of this Name are those of the words Hayah Hoveh Veyheyeh, He was, He is, and He will be…

Of course the connection between Revelation 4 and Isaiah 6 is easily recognizable, but I’d never seen the Three Part Name in the Hebrew Scriptures (maybe it’s there & I haven’t seen it). It instantly struck me that when Jesus appeared to John on Patmos, John did not recognize his friend and rabbi until he identified himself as “the First and the Last.”

So what the Artscroll rabbi wrote, and what John wrote, are essentially the same. Consider the implications.