That’s a big word. And it’s talked about a lot in Christianity, since it’s a major topic in the Bible. But most of the time, you hear the great preachers saying it doesn’t really mean that.

So then – it means what? Some say “maturity.” Some say “completion.” Some say “equipping.” What the!?! You can take all the Greek you want & turn it inside out & backwards, but when Messiah himself defines it as simply being perfect as the Father is perfect, you just can’t wriggle out of it.

(Yeshua sat down with his talmidim and had a nice, long talk with them, outlining his requirements for their behavior. His talmid Matityahu recorded it in his book of the gospel – see the end of chapter 5.)

I’ve been putting off this post for a long time, trying to think of some wonderfully erudite way of expressing this, but then I realized it’s really just as simple as Yeshua said it.

I don’t know about you, but I’m getting tired of learned scholars saying that parts of the Bible don’t mean what they say, simply because they don’t want to deal with it. Accepting what the Bible says entails a great deal of personal responsibility, and if you don’t like that – too late!

And then the other comeback is something like, “Well, look at you – you’re not perfect.” Yes, I am not, but that doesn’t excuse either one of us, does it?

Now, if you will please excuse me while I go and deal with it.